Home Online Store FAQ's Site Map

Resources & Scholarships

The AHTA provides the following resources to facilitate and support the membership in the field of hand therapy research projects:

Journal access

The AHTA provides a membership level of access to Science Direct, SAGE and EBSCO to members. Additional resources available to the general allied health sector are also listed here.

Science Direct http://www.ahta.com.au/site/science-direct

EBSCO http://www.ahta.com.au/site/ebsco

SAGE Journals Hand Therapy and JOHS European http://www.ahta.com.au/site/sage-journals---hand-therapy-and-johs--europe-

PEDro

National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools: NCCMT

NCCMT: Multimedia

NCCMT: Registry of Tools and Methods

NCCMT:  evidence based practice courses

Scholarship Funding

The AHTA has provision to allocate $10,000 per annum to seed member research projects. Applications close on the 31st July each year.

Research Scholarship Guidelines

Research Scholarship Application Form

Research grants available from other organisations:

A link to the Allied Health Professionals Office Queensland’s Allied Health Research, Scholarship & Professional Development Funding Alert (this is updated monthly):

http://www.health.qld.gov.au/hpresearch/html/scholarupdate.asp

Mentorship

Mentorship in research is provided by the research and scholarship sub-committee members and outside organisations. Please email directly to access this service.

Prof Andrea Bialocerkowski  a.bialocerkowski@griffith.edu.au Research & Scholarship Subcommittee Member - Head, School of Allied Health Sciences, Griffith University, QLD Campus
Dr Nicola Massey-Westropp  nicola.massy-westropp@unisa.edu.au Research & Scholarship Subcommittee Member - University of South Australia
Dr Susan Peters  susanelizabethpeters@gmail.com Research & Scholarship Subcommittee Member - Harvard T.H.Chan School of Public Health
Dr Bronwen Ackermann  bronwen.ackermann@sydney.edu.au Senior Lecturer, Biomedical Sciences - University of Sydney
Prof Kathryn Refshauge  kathryn.refshauge@sydney.edu.au Faculty of Health Sciences and Professor of Physiotherapy, University of Sydney
Dr Leanne Bisset  l.bisset@griffith.edu.au Senior Lecturer Musculoskeletal Physiotherapy, Griffith University, QLD Campus

 

Database search assist videos

 

The following four videos are recommended by the research committee

How to search EBSCO https://youtu.be/hC5N-Tdkalw 
How to search CINAHL in EBSCO https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aImMh_KSEEc
Advanced search CINAHL in EBSCO https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRf6cRA8yMY
How to search in science direct https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Zmc3TUKNrg